All posts by jo fr

Global Forum on Scientific Advances Important to the BWC and BWC Meeting of States Parties 2-6 December 2019

There was a day-long forum on December 2 on the scientific advances important to the BWC organized by the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security at the UN Headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. One of the panels was named “Gene Drives and Engineered Ecology: What can we expect from these advancing capabilities and what are their implications for the BWC?”

Despite the critical question in the title of the event, the introduction “Biotechnology is ancient, we use it for thousands of years, we started by turning a wolf into a dog.” made it clear that there would be hardly any critical statements on gene drive technology. The panel, was composed of a gene drive developer, an entomologist and a spokesperson from the National Institute of Health and hosted by a university that is funded by the Open Philanthropy Project (which incidentally also funds Target Malaria).

Therefore, the panel scheduled for the following day by the GD conflict committee with the title “Conflict Potentials from the Release of Gene Drives” had the opportunity to serve as a more balanced counterpoint. Two presentations by the researchers from the GDkonflikt project and the subsequent discussion with and questions from the audience delivered a broad but intricate overview on the planned applications for both gene drive and horizontal environmental genetic alteration agents and legal, political, regulatory, ethical, social, and economic conflict potentials that may arise from them. Despite being a parallel session and being scheduled directly before the start of the annual Bioweapons Convention Meeting of States Parties the panel was well received and praised by attendees.

All posts by jo fr

Globales Forum über wissenschaftliche Fortschritte, die für das BWÜ und das BWÜ-Vertragsstaatentreffen vom 2. bis 6. Dezember 2019 wichtig sind

Am 2. Dezember fand ein eintägiges Forum über die für das BWÜ wichtigen wissenschaftlichen Fortschritte statt, das vom Johns-Hopkins-Center for Health Security im UN-Hauptquartier in Genf, Schweiz, organisiert wurde. Eines der Podiumsdiskussionen trug den Titel “Gene Drives and Engineered Ecology”: What can we expect from these advancing capabilities and what are their implications for the BWC?

Trotz der kritischen Frage im Titel der Veranstaltung machte die Einleitung “Die Biotechnologie ist uralt, wir nutzen sie seit Tausenden von Jahren, wir haben den Anfang damit gemacht, dass wir aus dem Wolf einen Hund gemacht haben” deutlich, dass es kaum kritische Aussagen zur Gene-Drive Technologie geben würde. Das Panel, das sich aus einem Gene-Drive-Entwickler, einer Entomologin und einem Sprecher des National Institute of Health zusammensetzte, wurde von einer Universität ausgerichtet, die vom Open Philanthropy Project (das übrigens auch Target Malaria finanziert) finanziert wird.

Das am folgenden Tag vom Konfliktausschuss der GD geplante Panel mit dem Titel “Konfliktpotenziale durch die Freisetzung von Genantrieben” hatte daher die Gelegenheit, eher als ausgewogener Kontrapunkt zu fungieren. Zwei Vorträge der Wissenschaftler aus dem GDKonflikt-Projekt und die anschließende Diskussion mit und Fragen aus dem Publikum gaben einen breiten, aber komplizierten Überblick über die geplanten Anwendungen sowohl von Genantrieben als auch von horizontal environmental genetic alteration agents und die sich daraus ergebenden rechtlichen, politischen, regulatorischen, ethischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Konfliktpotenziale. Obwohl es sich um eine parallele Sitzung handelte und sie unmittelbar vor Beginn der jährlichen Tagung der Vertragsstaaten des Biowaffen-Übereinkommens angesetzt wurde, wurde das Panel von den Teilnehmern gut rezipiert und gelobt.