Info: Konferenz SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19

Info: Konferenz SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19

SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19 | https://sps.peasec.de

26.-27.9.2019 | Lichtenberg-Haus, Darmstadt, Germany

TU Darmstadt, CYSEC, PEASEC, CROSSING, IANUS, FONAS, P&D, AICES, ZNF, ISFH

Technologische und naturwissenschaftliche Innovation haben erheblichen Einfluss auf Frieden und internationale Sicherheit. Zivile und militärische Technologien beeinflussen dabei die Strategien von Staaten und stellen sie vor neue Herausforderungen, wie die Austragung von Konflikten im Cyberspace und die Entwicklung von autonomen und teil-autonomen Waffensystemen. Nukleare Abrüstung, die Kontrolle von chemischen und biologischen Waffen, Raketenabwehr und Weltraumrüstung erfahren eine neue Dringlichkeit.

Die Konferenz SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19 hat es sich deshalb zum Ziel gesetzt, gegenwärtige und zukünftige Herausforderungen für Frieden und Sicherheit zu benennen. Das schließt naturwissenschaftlich-technische sowie interdisziplinäre Beiträge ein, mit Schwerpunkten bei internationaler Sicherheit, Friedensschaffung sowie transparenz- und vertrauensbildenden Maßnahmen, Rüstungskontrolle, Abrüstung und Konfliktmanagement.

Wir laden WissenschaftlerInnen und PraktikerInnen zu Beiträgen ein. Angenommene Beiträge werden als Konferenzband bzw. beste Beiträge in einem Journal Special Issue (“Science and Global Security”) veröffentlicht. Basierend auf 30 Jahren Forschungstradition bei IANUS an der TU Darmstadt möchte die Konferenz ExpertInnen fachübergreifend zusammenbringen, um global relevante Fragen von Frieden und Sicherheit zu diskutieren.

TRACKS UND CHAIRS

– Cyber-Security, Cyber-War and Cyber-Peace (Prof. Christian Reuter, TU Darmstadt)

– Nuclear Nonproliferation/Disarmament (Prof. Malte Göttsche, RWTH Aachen)

– Biological/Chemical Weapons (Dr. Mirko Himmel, Uni Hamburg)

– Future Arms Control (Dr. Jürgen Altmann, TU Dortmund)

Abgabefrist für die Einreichung von (englischsprachigen) Talks, Posters oder Papers: 1. April 2019

Wir erwarten Sie in DARMSTADT zur SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19. | https://sps.peasec.de

Info: Conference SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19

Information on conference:

SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19 | https://sps.peasec.de

26.-27.9.2019 | Lichtenberg-Haus, Darmstadt, Germany

TU Darmstadt, CYSEC, PEASEC, CROSSING, IANUS, FONAS, P&D, AICES, ZNF, ISFH

Scientific discoveries and technological innovations have always exerted a great influence on peace and security. New civil and military technologies are revolutionizing warfare. Particularly striking areas are cyber warfare and the rapid development of unmanned weapons systems. Issues of nuclear disarmament, missile defense or space armament as well as chemical and biological weapons are again becoming more urgent. Furthermore, frequent use of chemical weapons may lead to erosion of trust in arms control treaties.

The conference SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19 aims for an accurate understanding and fruitful discussions of today’s and tomorrow’s peace and security challenges. This includes scientific-technical as well as interdisciplinary contributions, focusing on problems of international security and peacebuilding as well as contributions dedicated to transparency, trust-building, arms control, disarmament, and conflict management.

We invite researchers and practitioners to contribute to this conference. Accepted papers will prospectively be published in the form of conference proceedings (as papers or abstracts) and best papers in a journal special issue (“Science and Global Security”). Taking the 30-years tradition of IANUS at the TU Darmstadt into account, the conference aims at connecting experts across the disciplines to discuss the urgent challenges for global peace and security.

TRACKS AND CHAIRS

– Cyber-Security, Cyber-War and Cyber-Peace (Prof. Christian Reuter, TU Darmstadt)

– Nuclear Nonproliferation/Disarmament (Prof. Malte Göttsche, RWTH Aachen)

– Biological/Chemical Weapons (Dr. Mirko Himmel, Uni Hamburg)

– Future Arms Control (Dr. Jürgen Altmann, TU Dortmund)

Deadline for talks, posters or papers: April 1st, 2019

We look forward to seeing you in DARMSTADT at SCIENCE · PEACE · SECURITY ’19. | https://sps.peasec.de